back

Chorley Historical and Archaeological Society

News and Views

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
2014 2015 2016 2017 2018  
Jan 2017 Feb 2017 Mar 2017 Apr 2017 May 2017 Jun 2017
Jul 2017 Aug 2017 Sep 2017 Oct 2017 Nov 2017 Dec 2017
Sep 2017

Sat 09 Sep 2017
Park St Unitarian Chapel open to visitors as part of the Open Heritage Weekend events.
Doreen Jolly

This afternoon Park St Unitarian Chapel was open to visitors as part of the Open Heritage Weekend events. Doreen Jolly of the Chapel and also a member of Chorley Historical & Archaeological Society gave us a detailed talk about the history of the Chapel and its place in Chorley’s history. It was built in 1725 and then became Chorley’s second church after the Parish Church.

The third was Hollishead Street Church. Doreen took us on a walk through history as we went outside to view the reconstructed steps from Water Street then a fascinating look at Park Road. Park Road was constructed in 1820 using the labour of unemployed men who had returned from the Napoleonic Wars. The construction and surfacing was designed by John McAdam (1756-1836) who was a famous road builder and pioneer of road construction. The road was opened in 1822 by Lady Hoghton. She then travelled to the Preston Guild.


Doreen and visitors


Park Road Chorley


Originally a warehouse on Park Street 


Beresford House, the first on Park Road in 1823