back
www.chorleyhistorysociety.co.uk

Chorley Historical and Archaeological Society

Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month (except July) at Chorley Library, Trinity Methodist Church Hall, Gillibrand Walks, Chorley. PR7 2HF. We start at 7:30pm, annual membership is £7.50p (£12 for couples) with a £1 charge on the door for members (£2 for guests) for tea and biscuits. New members are welcome.

Schedule of events

Previous events

Current events

   
   
Tue 13 Nov 2018 Alec Houghton - A History of Red Poppies & White Poppies.
Tue 11 Dec 2018 Social evening with quiz
Tue 08 Jan 2019 Ian Bagshaw - The Royal Mail & Secret Language of Postcards.
Tue 12 Feb 2019 Dr Bill Shannon - Hell Holes, Moss Houses and Meanygates.
Tue 12 Mar 2019 Paul Hindle - Maps and Turnpikes in Lancashire.
Tue 09 Apr 2019 Elaine Taylor - Smithills – Bolton.
Tue 14 May 2019 Nigel Neil - Archaeological Work at Whalley Abbey.
Tue 11 Jun 2019 Wendy Klenkenburg - The History of Tiles.
Tue 09 Jul 2019 No Meeting in July
Tue 13 Aug 2019 Dr David Hunt - Local History from a Balloon.
Tue 10 Sep 2019 Annual General Meeting - and Members’ Reports – A review of the year’s visits, outings and projects
Tue 08 Oct 2019 David Hewitt - Joseph, 1917.
Tue 12 Nov 2019 Brian Healey - The Golden Age of the Trans-Atlantic Liner.
Tue 10 Dec 2019 Social Evening with Quiz
   
   

Committee meetings will be held the following Mondays:
No info yet for 2019.